About About Cataract & Refractive Surgery Today

About CRSToday

Cataract & Refractive Surgery Today (CRST) is uniquely positioned within the ophthalmic marketplace to serve both physicians’ and industry needs.

Targeted content for a clearly defined audience.

Our audience is 10,893 cataract and refractive surgeons, period! We cater to those surgeons who are looking for a comprehensive editorial package that suits their specific interests. Our how-to format promotes continuing education with topics such as the latest surgical approaches and techniques, complications management and avoidance pearls, practice management and business advice, and the latest technological advances. CRSToday picks up where other publications leave off with in-depth reporting, multiple contributors, and a balanced presentation.

A forum for the latest surgical developments.

CRST is not only concerned with what’s now but also what’s next. Our readers, more so than other subspecialists, are looking for the latest in product releases and technological developments, both in the US and internationally. Surgeons investing in a technology want to know what its long-term benefits will be, and so we look beyond clinical approvals into potential future applications.

The informative connection between industry and surgeons.

CRST is a targeted, cost-effective vehicle through which industry can aim marketing/advertising messages to cataract and refractive surgeons. In a sea of broadly focused ophthalmic publications, CRST’s content is appropriately tailored to our target audience. Our readers will never need to flip through articles written for glaucoma, retinal, and other subspecialists.

People are talking.

Each of our 12 yearly issues strives to capture the quality and excitement of the information offered at meetings throughout the world. We have even visited courtrooms to bring our readers the most thorough, timely information on legislative issues that impact their practices. Judging from the responses we’ve received, surgeons like what they’re seeing. Read a few of the comments to the right and see what physicians are saying about CRST.

Editorial Board

  • Lisa Brothers Arbisser, MD – Davenport, Iowa
  • Richard M. Awdeh, MD – Miami, Florida
  • Kenneth A. Beckman, MD – Westerville, Ohio
  • John P. Berdahl, MD – Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • William I. Bond, MD – Pekin, Illinois
  • Stephen F. Brint, MD – Metairie, Louisiana
  • Frank A. Bucci, Jr, MD – Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania
  • Robert Cionni, MD – Salt Lake City, Utah
  • Stephen Coleman, MD – Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • Elizabeth A. Davis, MD – Bloomington, Minnesota
  • Steven H. Dewey, MD – Colorado Springs, Colorado
  • Damien F. Goldberg, MD – Torrance, California
  • David A. Goldman, MD – Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
  • Preeya K. Gupta, MD – Durham, North Carolina
  • David R. Hardten, MD – Bloomington, Minnesota
  • Kathryn M. Hatch, MD – Waltham, Massachusetts
  • Bonnie An Henderson, MD – Boston, Massachusetts
  • Mitchell A. Jackson, MD – Lake Villa, Illinois
  • Jason J. Jones, MD – Sioux City, Iowa
  • Terry Kim, MD – Durham, North Carolina
  • Colman R. Kraff, MD – Chicago, Illinois
  • Ronald R. Krueger, MD – Cleveland, Ohio
  • William J. Lahners, MD – Sarasota, Florida
  • Stephen S. Lane M.D. – Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • Richard J. Mackool, MD – Astoria, New York
  • Scott M. MacRae, MD – Rochester, New York
  • Parag A. Majmudar, MD – Chicago, Illinois
  • Robert K. Maloney, MD – Los Angeles, California
  • Cathleen M. McCabe, MD – Sarasota, Florida
  • Marguerite McDonald, MD – Rockville Centre, New York
  • Kevin M. Miller, MD – Los Angeles, California
  • Randall J. Olson, MD – Salt Lake City, Utah
  • Robert H. Osher, MD – Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Mark Packer, MD – Eugene, Oregon
  • Jai G. Parekh, MD, MBA – Woodland Park, New Jersey
  • Jay S. Pepose, MD, PhD – St. Louis, Missouri
  • Scott A. Perkins, MD – Phoenix, Arizona
  • Louis E. Probst, MD – Ann Arbor, Michigan
  • Michael B. Raizman, MD – Boston, Massachusetts
  • Rajesh K. Rajpal, MD – Washington, DC
  • Tal Raviv, MD – New York, New York
  • Mark Rosenberg – Phoenix, Arizona
  • Sheri Rowen, MD – Baltimore, Maryland
  • Neda Shamie, MD – Beverly Hills, California
  • Mitchell C. Shultz, MD – Encino, California
  • Kerry D. Solomon, MD – Mount Pleasant, S. Carolina
  • Christopher E. Starr, MD – New York, New York
  • P. Dee G. Stephenson, MD – Venice, Florida
  • Jonathan H. Talamo, MD – Waltham, Massachusetts
  • Audrey R. Talley Rostov, MD – Seattle, Washington
  • Shachar Tauber, MD – Springfield, Missouri
  • Vance Thompson, MD – Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Richard Tipperman, MD – Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • Farrell “Toby” Tyson, MD – Fort Myers, Florida
  • Keith A. Walter, MD – Winston-Salem, N. Carolina
  • George O. Waring IV, MD – Charleston, S. Carolina
  • Elizabeth Yeu, MD – Norfolk, Virginia
  • Daniel H. Chang, MD – Bakersfield, CA

Chief Medical Editors

  • Steven J. Dell, MD – Austin, Texas
  • Eric D. Donnenfeld, MD – Rockville Centre, New York
  • Robert J. Weinstock, MD – Tampa, Florida

Editors Emeritus

  • David F. Chang, MD – Los Altos, California
  • John F. Doane, MD – Kansas City, Missouri
  • Eric D. Donnenfeld, MD – Rockville Centre, NY
  • Stephen G. Slade, MD – Houston, Texas

Editorial Advisory Board

  • Uday Devgan, MD – Los Angeles, California
  • Warren E. Hill, MD – Mesa, Arizona
  • John A. Hovanesian, MD – Laguna Hills, California
  • Mark Kontos, MD – Coeur d\’Alene, Idaho
  • Michael E. Snyder, MD – Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Karl G. Stonecipher, MD – Greensboro, North Carolina
  • William B. Trattler, MD – Miami, Florida
  • John A. Vukich, MD – Madison, Wisconsin
  • R. Bruce Wallace III, MD – Alexandria, Louisiana
  • William F. Wiley, MD – Cleveland, Ohio


  • Iqbal Ike K. Ahmed, MD – Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Noel Alpins, FRANZCO, FRCOphth – Melbourne, Australia
  • John S. Chang Jr, MD – Hong Kong, China
  • Arthur Cummings, MB ChB, FCS (SA) – Dublin, Ireland
  • Sheraz M. Daya, MD – London, England
  • H. Burkhard Dick, MD – Mainz, Germany
  • Damien Gatinel, MD- Paris, France
  • A. John Kanellopoulos, MD – Athens, Greece
  • Michael C. Knorz, MD – Mannheim, Germany
  • Michael Lawless, MBBS, FRANZCO, FRACS – Chatswood, New South Wales, Australia
  • Erik L. Mertens, MD – Antwerp, Belgium